Top Formula 1 feeder series champions who were denied a seat in F1 the following year”

The last three Formula 2 champions – Theo Pourchaire, Oscar Piastri, and Felipe Drugovich – missed out on the Formula 1 graduation the following year. This trend is not new, as numerous champions of F2, Formula 3000, and GP2 have also been overlooked the season after their victory. Despite this, these drivers are still seeking chances to reach F1 and are keeping themselves race sharp in other championships to further their case for a promotion. This situation has left many champions of F1’s feeder series without the opportunity to drive a grand prix car in the year following their championship victory.

Share this TLDR
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments